The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

OSCE MG co-chairs address OSCE Permanent Council

OSCE MG co-chairs address OSCE Permanent Council



The OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs James Warlick (US), Igor Popov (Russia) and Pierre Andrieu (France) addressed the OSCE Permanent Council on the Armenian-Azerbaijani Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, Warlick tweeted Nov. 12.

Earlier, the co-chairmen held a meeting with Germany’s Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs Frank-Walter Steinmeier in Berlin to discuss the Armenian-Azerbaijani Nagorno-Karabakh conflict on the eve of Germany’s OSCE chairmanship.

The next meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council will be held in Belgrade, Serbia on Dec.3-4.
Moreover, during the Ministerial Meeting, the chairmanship in the organization will be handed over from Serbia to Germany.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The two countries signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the US are currently holding peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the UN Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.