The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

France supports Azerbaijan on Nagorno-Karabakh issue

France supports Azerbaijan on Nagorno-Karabakh issue



France supports Azerbaijan on the Nagorno-Karabakh issue, said Aurelia Bouchez, French ambassador, speaking to reporters Nov. 19.

“France’s position on Nagorno-Karabakh issue is extremely clear: France supports Azerbaijan, and doesn’t recognize the so-called Nagorno-Karabakh Republic,” she said commenting on the 16th European telethon, held by the French office of the Hayastan All-Armenian Fund.

It was earlier reported that all the funds collected during the telethon, held under patronage of the Paris Mayor Anne Hidalgo, will be used to construct community centers in the Armenia-occupied Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan.

“Despite that the mayor of Paris is realizing this project it doesn’t reflect the position of France,” said Bouchez. “There is no reason to talk about double standards.”

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The two countries signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the US are currently holding peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented the UN Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.