The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

US doesn’t recognize independence of Nagorno-Karabakh

US doesn’t recognize independence of Nagorno-Karabakh



The status of Nagorno-Karabakh is a subject of international mediation under the auspices of the OSCE Minsk Group, Coordinator of US Assistance to Europe and Eurasia of the US Department of State Alina Romanowski told reporters in Baku.

The recent funding provided by the US Department of State to Nagorno-Karabakh has been focused exclusively on demining projects and it is expected to continue until all mines have been cleared, she said.

“Funding is always allocated to the implementing organizations, and we do not provide assistance to the de facto authorities of the Nagorno-Karabakh,” Romanowski said.
The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The two countries signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the US are currently holding peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the UN Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.