The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Australia recognizes Azerbaijan’s sovereignty – FM

Australia recognizes Azerbaijan’s sovereignty – FM


The Australian government recognizes the sovereignty of Azerbaijan in regard to the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, Australia Foreign Minister Julie Bishop said.

The FM made such a statement in response to the question from Luke Simpkin, head of the Australia-Azerbaijan interparliamentary friendship group, MP from the State of Western Australia, regarding the official position of Australia on the Armenian occupation of the Azerbaijani territories, the Azerbaijani embassy in Australian told APA.  

The minister stated that Australia has been pursuing a long-term policy in connection with the condemnation of the occupation of world’s sovereign territories.  

Australia doesn’t recognize the independence of Nagorno-Karabakhand it supports OSCE Minsk Group’s efforts toward the solution of the problem, the FM added.

Julie Bishop urged Armenia and Azerbaijan to come together to settle the problem peacefully and put an end to the conflict and the occupation of Nagorno-Karabakh.