The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Karabakh conflict discussed in Belgrade

Karabakh conflict discussed in Belgrade



Azerbaijan’s Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov and OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs have discussed the ways of resolving the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict in Belgrade, Azerbaijani Foreign Ministry told Trend Dec.3.

The meeting was held as part of the 22nd OSCE Ministerial Council that has kicked off in Belgrade, Serbia.

Azerbaijan’s foreign minister and the co-chairs discussed the current status of the negotiation process on the conflict, the action plan of the OSCE Minsk Group for the upcoming period, as well as the issues related to organizing a meeting between Azerbaijani and Armenian presidents.

During the meeting, Mammadyarov emphasized the necessity of resolving the conflict in accordance with four resolutions of the UN Security Council and within Azerbaijan’s internationally recognized territorial integrity and sovereignty, as well as withdrawal of Armenian armed forces from Azerbaijan’s occupied lands.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The two countries signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the US are currently holding peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the UN Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.