The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

900 Azerbaijani cultural and religious monuments destroyed due to Armenian occupation

900 Azerbaijani cultural and religious monuments destroyed due to Armenian occupation



Some 900 cultural and religious monuments were destroyed in Azerbaijan as a result of the Armenian occupation, Mubariz Gurbanli, the chairman of the Azerbaijani State Committee for Work with Religious Organizations, said at an event entitled "Protection of cultural and religious heritage in the Caucasus" Dec. 4.

“The protection of the cultural and religious heritage is an important issue,” he said. “In this regard, many documents ratified by Azerbaijan as well were adopted at the international level.”

He said that the Caucasus is one of the unique regions of the world with representatives of many world religions.

"Historical monuments are destroyed not only today,” he said. “This happened earlier. Unfortunately, humanity has learned nothing from the past."

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The two countries signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the US are currently holding peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the UN Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.