The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Baku outraged by Warlick’s meeting with Karabakh separatist

Baku outraged by Warlick’s meeting with Karabakh separatist



Azerbaijani Foreign Ministry intends to express dissatisfaction and concern to the US State Department over the meeting of the US co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group James Warlick with the representative of the separatist regime of Nagorno-Karabakh, spokesperson of the Foreign Ministry Hikmet Hajiyev told Trend Dec.11.

“In general, issuing a US visa to Karen Mirzoyan, representative of the separatist regime of Nagorno-Karabakh is inadmissible, since the US is the co-chairing country of the OSCE Minsk Group,” he said.

Earlier, Armenian media reported that Warlick has attended an event dedicated to the separatist regime created on Azerbaijan’s occupied lands and met with the representative of this regime Karen Mirzoyan.

This fact was investigated by Azerbaijan’s embassy in the US, said Hajiyev.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The two countries signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the US are currently holding peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the UN Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.