The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Bern hosted Azerbaijani, Armenian presidents’ meeting

Bern hosted Azerbaijani, Armenian presidents’ meeting



Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev is on a working visit to Switzerland.

President Aliyev met with Didier Burkhalter, the member of the Federal Government of Switzerland, the head of the Department of Foreign Affairs December 19, Azertag reported.
A picture was taken following the meeting.

Afterwards, Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev and Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan met.

The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group and the OSCE chairperson-in-office personal representative are also in Bern for the presidents’ meeting.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The two countries signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the US are currently holding peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the UN Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.