The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Lavrov: Russia, Karabakh conflict parties seeking ways to resolve it

Lavrov: Russia, Karabakh conflict parties seeking ways to resolve it



There are a number of documents on the negotiating table on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, which were prepared by the OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs at several stages of the peaceful settlement, said Sergei Lavrov, Russia’s foreign minister.

Lavrov made the remarks Jan. 26 at a press conference in Moscow, Trend’s correspondent reported.

“These documents, which have evolved over several years, are today considered as the documents on the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict,” said the Russian FM.

“No document has yet led to a complete solution of all the nuances on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, and Russia is making efforts to help the sides to find a peaceful settlement,” added Lavrov.

“Together we are seeking new ideas, and brainstorming with the sides on the issue,” he further said.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The two countries signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the US are currently holding peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the UN Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.