The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

OSCE MG turned into useless organization: Azerbaijani official

OSCE MG turned into useless organization: Azerbaijani official


Lack of attention to Azerbaijan’s just voice and reluctance to recognize Armenia’s occupation of Azerbaijani lands indicates the presence of supporters of the Armenian occupation within PACE, Azerbaijan’s first deputy parliamentary speaker Ziyafat Asgarov told reporters on Saturday, APA reported.

“Nonetheless, we have to admit that the number of Azerbaijan’s friends therein has increased. As you can see, the document titled “Escalation of violence in Nagorno-Karabakh and other occupied territories of Azerbaijan” was disapproved because of lack of 5-6 more votes, whereas the second issue — the document concerning the Sarsang reservoir — was approved, and in this document Armenia’s recognition as an invader is overtly stated,” Asgarov stressed. 

According to him, the disapproval of the first document proved that there are some — including the OSCE Minsk Group — who defend Armenia’s policy of occupation.

“In general, we think the OSCE Minsk Group has indeed turned into a useless organization. The disapproval of the aforementioned document is an outcome of the recent efforts made by the OSCE Minsk Group. However, we do hope that within the Council of Europe there are friends of Azerbaijan who can hear our voice. The approval of the resolution regarding the Sarsang reservoir is an indicative of it,” he said. 

Note that, Robert Walter’s resolution titled “Escalation of violence inNagorno-Karabakh and other occupied territories of Azerbaijan” was tabled on January 26, during the PACE winter session. Joined by 181 MPs, the voting resulted in 66 in favor of and 70 against the resolution, with 45 MPs neutral. So the resolution was not approved, while the other resolution titled “Inhabitants of frontier regions of Azerbaijan are deliberately deprived of water” was approved.