The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

True number of Armenian military causalities: 322 dead, over 500 wounded, 50 missing

True number of Armenian military causalities: 322 dead, over 500 wounded, 50 missing


As a result of hostilities on the line of contact between Armenian and Azerbaijani troops from April 2 to 5, the Armenian side suffered heavy losses that it has announced previously.

APA reports with reference to the Armenian media and social networks that about 322 Armenian servicemen were killed, more than 500 wounded and 50 others reported missing after the recent clashes on the contact line.

In order to conceal the number of casualties, the Armenian side listed some dead soldiers as “missing”. In fact, most of the dead have been buried and the other part in declared non-combat losses.

The Armenian side had once reported the above mentioned information on the number of its casualties, after a while it was deleted from the websites.

There is evidence that the names of some Armenian soldiers, who deserted from the battlefield and fled to Iran, are listed as missing.

Most of the dead soldiers reported ‘missing’ was buried covertly, and the rest of them are being kept in morgues.   

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includesNagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, KalbajarAghdam,FuzuliJabrayilGubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCEMinsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Poland, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACEOSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.