The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Azerbaijani FM: Armenia continues to ignore int’l community’s appeals

Azerbaijani FM: Armenia continues to ignore int’l community’s appeals



Armenia continues to ignore the appeals of the international community to put an end to the occupation of Azerbaijani territories and commits war crimes against the civilian population of Azerbaijan, Elmar Mammadyarov, Azerbaijani foreign minister, said.

Mammadyarov made a report at the German Council on Foreign Relations as part of the official visit to Germany, the Azerbaijani foreign ministry said May 12.

Mammadyarov stressed the importance of intensifying the OSCE's efforts in resolving the conflict and expressed the hope that Germany during its chairmanship in the OSCE will be able to make contribution in this issue.

"First of all, the Armenian troops must be withdrawn from the occupied Azerbaijani territories to resolve the conflict," the minister said, adding that it is necessary to put an end to the occupation and launch a comprehensive political process.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.