The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Armenia shells Azerbaijan's positions in Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic

Armenia shells Azerbaijan's positions in Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic



Despite the ceasefire agreement, Armenia has staged another armed provocation by shelling the positions of Azerbaijani army in Shahbuz district of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic, Azerbaijan's Defense Ministry said May 12.

Azerbaijani armed forces on the territory of Shahbuz district, took fire from the positions located in Armenia's Yeghegnadzor district at 10:30 (UTC/GMT + 4 hours), May 12.

Azerbaijani serviceman Yusif Guluzade was injured as a result of the Armenian sabotage. He received necessary medical care and currently his life is not in danger.

The Separate Combined-arms Army of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic silenced the opposing side with return fire.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.