The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Armenian army shelling Azerbaijani village

Armenian army shelling Azerbaijani village



Armenian armed forces are shelling the Gazyan village of Azerbaijan's Terter district, said the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry May 13.

The ministry said Armenia's armed forces began shelling the Azerbaijani village using the 120 mm mortars at 18:20 (UTC/GMT +4 hours).

Azerbaijani armed forces are carrying out operations in accordance with the current situation and striking back, added the ministry.

"Armenia's criminal military and political leadership is fully responsible for further developments that may occur as a result of such provocations," noted the ministry.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.