The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Armenia rejects to recognize illegal regime created in occupied Azerbaijani lands

Armenia rejects to recognize illegal regime created in occupied Azerbaijani lands


Trend: Armenian government has not approved of the bill initiated by two Armenian MPs on recognition of the illegal regime in Azerbaijan's occupied Nagorno-Karabakh region, the Armenian media outlets report.

Currently the recognition of the Nagorno-Karabakh region is inappropriate as it can interfere with the negotiation process, Deputy Foreign Minister of Armenia Shavarsh Kocharyan said May 16 during discussion on the bill in the country's committee on foreign relations.

Armenia's Foreign Ministry made a statement on May 5 saying the rumors about the decision of the Armenian government regarding two MPs' initiative to recognize the "independence" of Azerbaijan's Nagorno-Karabakh region are groundless.

The statement read that the government's decision doesn't mean approval of that initiative.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.