The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Russian PM stresses importance of finally solving Karabakh conflict

Russian PM stresses importance of finally solving Karabakh conflict



It is important to achieve a settlement to the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict once and for all, and Russia will continue its assistance in this issue, RIA Novosti quoted Russia's Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev as saying May 20.

The issue was discussed during a meeting between Medvedev and Armenia's President Serzh Sargsyan in Yerevan.

Moscow welcomes the recent meeting between Azerbaijani and Armenian presidents and the efforts of the OSCE Minsk Group on maintaining the dialogue in order to prevent incidents in the future, said the Russian PM.

Medvedev also stressed the importance of moving towards a more sustainable peace in the region.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.