The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Information on "statement" spread in UN by fictitious Armenian regime - another fabrication

Information on



Information that fictitious regime established by Armenia in the occupied Azerbaijani territories has issued a "statement" in the General Assembly and the Security Council of the UN is another fabrication of the Armenian Foreign Ministry, Hikmat Hajiyev, spokesman for the Azerbaijani Foreign Ministry, told Trend May 25.

He said that no one is surprised that the Armenian Foreign Ministry confuses illusion with reality.

"In fact, Permanent Mission of Armenia to the UN by abusing its status and showing disrespect to the UN system and its member countries is trying to disseminate such scraps of paper on behalf of a fictitious regime," said Hajiyev.

Hajiyev added that the UN system treats the environment with respect and sends such papers for recycling.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.