The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

St. Petersburg to host summit on Karabakh conflict

St. Petersburg to host summit on Karabakh conflict



It is planned to hold a trilateral summit of Azerbaijan, Armenia and Russia on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict in St. Petersburg in late June, a source in Russia's Foreign Ministry told RIA Novosti June 9.

It was earlier reported that Russia's Deputy Foreign Minister Grigory Karasin and French Ambassador to Russia Jean-Maurice Ripert discussed the preparations for the trilateral summit on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.

During the talks, Karasin and Ripert discussed the international efforts on resolving the crisis in Ukraine and touched upon the situation in the South Caucasus and Central Asia.

France's ambassador was accompanied by the OSCE Minsk Group co-chair, French Foreign Ministry's ambassador-at-large for Eastern Partnership, Pierre Andrieu.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.