The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Iran envoy calls to putting an end to the occupation of Nagorno-Karabakh

Iran envoy calls to putting an end to the occupation of Nagorno-Karabakh



Iranian Ambassador to Azerbaijan Mohsen Pak Ayeen has described unity among Muslims as a way for putting an end to the occupation of Nagorno-Karabakh and other occupied Muslim lands.

Addressing a ceremony in Baku, he highlighted the need for unity among Muslims and condemned extremism, Trend correspondent reported.

Mohsen Pak Ayeen further touched upon a recent terror attack on an airport in Turkish city of Istanbul and expressed sympathy with the victims.

The envoy made the remarks during a fast breaking ceremony (iftar) on the occasion of the last Friday of holy month of Ramadan marking “Quds Day”.

Chairman of Caucasus Muslims Office Sheikh-ul-Islam Allahshukur Pashazade, Chairman of Azerbaijan's State Committee for Work with Religious Organizations Mubariz Gurbanli, several Azerbaijani lawmakers as well as a number of Muslim countries' envoys and diplomats from various Muslim countries attended the ceremony that was hosted by Iranian embassy July 1.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.