The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Lavrov, Kerry discuss Karabakh settlement

Lavrov, Kerry discuss Karabakh settlement



Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov and US Secretary of State John Kerry discussed during a telephone conversation further steps to be taken in order to settle the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, the Russian Foreign Ministry said Saturday, Sputnik reports.

"Sides discussed the issues relating to the further steps to be taken by the co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk group on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict resolution following the outcome of the meeting between the Presidents of Russia, Azerbaijan and Armenia in St. Petersburg on June 20," the ministry said.

The sides also discussed settlement of the Syrian conflict, including the cooperation between the two countries in the fight against terrorism.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.