The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Karabakh conflict settlement to be at core of Italy’s 2018 OSCE chairmanship agenda

Karabakh conflict settlement to be at core of Italy’s 2018 OSCE chairmanship agenda


APA.Solving protracted conflicts, including the Armenia-AzerbaijanNagorno-Karabakh conflict will be at the core of the agenda during Italy’s OSCE chairmanship in 2017, Italy’s Foreign Minister Paolo Gentiloni said on Friday.

Italy is to chair the OSCE in 2018, following a consensus decision of the OSCE’s 57 participating States on 27 July 2016, said the FM. “This decision fully represents the recognition of our country’s commitment and desire to actively contribute to peace and stability in Europe,” said Gentiloni in Rome, welcoming the decision.

“A solution to the crisis in and around Ukraine and the protracted conflicts in the OSCE area (Nagorno-Karabakh, Georgia and Transdniestria); the flows of migrants and refugees; and a strengthened partnership with countries on the southern shore of the Mediterranean, will be at the core of our agenda during our Chairmanship,” added Gentiloni.

Italy will therefore next year work closely with Germany (2016 Chair) and Austria (2017 Chair) in its function as Chair of the Contact Group with theOSCE Mediterranean Partners for Co-operation.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includesNagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, KalbajarAghdam,FuzuliJabrayilGubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCEMinsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACEOSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.