The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Karabakh conflict may be mulled within Azerbaijan-Turkey-Russia trilateral format

Karabakh conflict may be mulled within Azerbaijan-Turkey-Russia trilateral format



The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict may be discussed within the Azerbaijan-Turkey-Russia trilateral format, Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu said, TRT Haber news channel reported Aug. 10.

He said the trilateral format would be beneficial to all parties.

“We discussed this format during the meetings in Azerbaijan,” Cavusoglu said. “Azerbaijan positively appreciated the trilateral format with Russia. This initiative was also announced during the meeting of Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan with Russian President Vladimir Putin. Russia also praised this mechanism. We may cooperate in political, economic, transport and energy sectors.”

On Aug. 9, Erdogan said Azerbaijan, Turkey and Russia may create a trilateral mechanism of cooperation.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.