The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Warlick: OSCE preparing new meeting on Karabakh conflict

Warlick: OSCE preparing new meeting on Karabakh conflict



The OSCE Minsk Group (MG) is keeping in touch with Azerbaijan and Armenia for holding the next meeting on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict’s settlement, RIA Novosti quoted the OSCE Minsk Group’s US Co-chair James Warlick as saying.

The latest meeting of the Azerbaijani and Armenian presidents was held June 20 in St. Petersburg in a trilateral format – with participation of Russia’s President Vladimir Putin. Earlier, Ilham Aliyev and Serzh Sargsyan had a meeting May 16 in Vienna.

Warlick said that during the meetings in Vienna and St. Petersburg, presidents of Azerbaijan and Armenia affirmed their readiness for the next meeting to ensure progress in the negotiation process.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.