The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Cekuta: US position on Karabakh conflict not changed

Cekuta: US position on Karabakh conflict not changed



The US position on the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict has not changed, says the US Ambassador to Azerbaijan Robert Cekuta.

“We support the OSCE Minsk Group’s activity,” he told reporters in Baku Sept. 15.

Cekuta also recalled that last week the US Co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group James Warlick discussed with Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov the conflict’s resolution.

“We continue thinking that this conflict needs to be resolved, that there has to be a settlement found, that the sides need to come together for stability and wellbeing of everyone in the region,” added Cekuta. “We continue to work with sides.”

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.