The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Paris ready to host talks on Karabakh conflict

Paris ready to host talks on Karabakh conflict



French President Francois Hollande has expressed readiness to accept presidents of Azerbaijan and Armenia Ilham Aliyev and Serzh Sargsyan within the negotiation process on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict’s settlement, RIA Novosti reported.

Hollande sent the message to Sargsyan in connection with Armenia Independence Day.

The French president reiterated his commitment aimed at the fair and stable settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict through negotiations.

Hollande added that he is ready to host a meeting in Paris to discuss measures on making progress in this extremely protracted conflict.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.