The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Azerbaijan awaits OSCE PA steps towards Karabakh conflict settlement

Azerbaijan awaits OSCE PA steps towards Karabakh conflict settlement


APA. Baku awaits effective steps by theOSCE Parliamentary Assembly towards the settlement of Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakhconflict, Bahar Muradova, vice-speaker of the Azerbaijani Parliament, told reporters in Baku Sept. 29.  

She noted that Azerbaijan is interested in consistent and dynamic development of long-standing relations with OSCE, and it attaches great importance to the OSCE values.

“We are waiting for steps by OSCE and its Parliamentary Assembly towards the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict,” said the vice-speaker. “It is not surprising that this issue is discussed at each session of the OSCE PA. An Azerbaijani delegation has already left for Macedonia to attend the OSCEPA session during which the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict will be discussed.”

Muradova added that Armenia’s non-constructive position on the conflict’s settlement will be highlighted at the upcoming meeting of the OSCE PA, and the Azerbaijani delegation will address the parliamentarians regarding the protection of the country’s fair stance.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includesNagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, KalbajarAghdam,FuzuliJabrayilGubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCEMinsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACEOSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.