The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

US Secretary of State: “The conditions for the solution of the Karabakh conflict has not yet been developed”

US Secretary of State: “The conditions for the solution of the Karabakh conflict has not yet been developed”


“The conditions for solution of the conflict between Armenia and Azerbaijan overNagorno-Karabakh has not yet been developed”, - US Secretary of State John Kerry, said while  speaking at the 8th annual forum organized by the Washington Research Aspen Institute and the weekly "Atlantic” journal, APAreports quoting TASS.

According to him, "in today's world there are some frozen conflicts, (including) Armenia-Azerbaijani Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, in which "currently" not seen the possibility of settlement, primarily "because the leaders are not ready."

Meanwhile, the Palestinian-Israeli conflict to this type does not apply, the head of US diplomacy. In his view, such conflicts "are complex, but you can see the" how to leave them in the past, "if people took certain decisions complexes". "I believe that the Israeli-Palestinian conflict is included in such a category," - Kerry said.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includesNagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, KalbajarAghdam,FuzuliJabrayilGubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCEMinsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996. 

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACEOSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.