The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Moscow hails Turkey’s role in Karabakh conflict’s settlement

Moscow hails Turkey’s role in Karabakh conflict’s settlement



There are no discussions to change the OSCE MG format, however, Moscow can only hail constructive role of the OSCE MG member states, including Turkey, in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict’s settlement, said Maria Zakharova, Russian Foreign Ministry’s spokeswoman.

Zakharova made the remarks during a briefing Oct. 20, said a message posted on the Russian Foreign Ministry’s website.

“It is a direct responsibility of all the members of the OSCE MG to facilitate the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict,” said Zakharova.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.