The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Azerbaijan strikes back, foils Armenian sabotage attempt

Azerbaijan strikes back, foils Armenian sabotage attempt



On October 26 evening, the Armenian Armed Forces tried to take advantage of bad weather and attempted a sabotage mission by approaching the Azerbaijani positions in the southern direction of the frontline of the two countries’ troops, Azerbaijan’s Ministry of Defense said Oct. 27.

Azerbaijani army detected the enemy’s actions in advance and carried out preventive strikes on the enemy’s positions. Suffering losses in dead and injured, the Armenian side had to retreat.

Azerbaijan’s Defense Ministry warns that the military and political leadership of Armenia is responsible for the tense situation on the frontline.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.