The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Moscow comments on separatist intention to rename so-called regime in Karabakh

Moscow comments on separatist intention to rename so-called regime in Karabakh


Russia and the other OSCE Minsk Group co-chair countries, even Armenia itself, do not recognize Nagorno-Karabakh as an independent state, Russian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova said in a statement to APA’s Moscow correspondent.

“We think the status of Nagorno-Karabakh must be determined through negotiations. Recent reports of the intention to rename it are not going to affect Russia’s position as to settling the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict,” Zakharov said of Nagorno-Karabakhseparatists’ intention to rename the so-called Nagorno-Karabakh Republic.

The spokeswoman also touched on whether the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict issue will be discussed at the meeting in Hamburg of OSCE foreign ministers.

“We, along with our co-chair partners, continue to intermediate between the parties to the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict. In this regard, the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict problem will be considered at the Vienna meeting of the OSCE Permanent Council on November 10 and at the meeting of the OSCEMinsk Group. We believe that this work will be carried on at the Hamburg meeting on December 8-9 of OSCE foreign ministers,” said Zakharova.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, KalbajarAghdamFuzuliJabrayilGubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCEMinsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACEOSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.