The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Azerbaijani FM to mull Karabakh conflict in Paris

Azerbaijani FM to mull Karabakh conflict in Paris



Azerbaijan’s Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov will pay a working visit to France on November 17, a source told Trend Nov. 16.

Mammadyarov is now on an official visit to Portugal.

According to the source, during the visit, Mammadyarov will meet with his French counterpart Jean-Marc Ayrault and discuss prospects of developing bilateral cooperation.

Aspects of settlement of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict will be considered separately during the negotiations, the source said.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.