The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Turkey against Azerbaijani territories’ occupation by Armenia

Turkey against Azerbaijani territories’ occupation by Armenia



Turkey is against the Azerbaijani territories’ occupation by Armenia, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan told reporters Nov. 23, Aksam newspaper reported.

Erdogan said that the occupation won’t bring any positive results and Armenia must leave Azerbaijan’s occupied territories as soon as possible.

The Turkish president also noted that the occupied territories of Azerbaijan must be returned to their rightful owners.

Azerbaijanis are the rightful owners of these lands and they must return to their lands, said Erdogan adding that the US, Russia and France must fulfill their commitments soon.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.