The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Azerbaijani serviceman killed during Armenian provocation

Azerbaijani serviceman killed during Armenian provocation



Azerbaijani serviceman Fikret Bashirov was killed as a result of shelling the positions of the Azerbaijani army by the Armenian armed forces, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry said in a message Jan. 15.

According to Azerbaijani Defense Minister, Colonel-General Zakir Hasanov’s order, Bashirov, who died as a result of Armenia’s another provocation on the line of contact between Armenian and Azerbaijani troops, was posthumously awarded with the third degree medal "For Distinction in Military Service".

The Azerbaijani Defense Ministry expresses condolences to the family of the killed serviceman.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.