The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Envoy: Moldova supports Azerbaijan’s territorial integrity

Envoy: Moldova supports Azerbaijan’s territorial integrity



Moldova is following the developments around the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, Moldovan Ambassador to Azerbaijan Gheorghe Leuca told reporters in Baku March 1.

“We touched upon this issue during political consultations held recently in Baku,” said Leuca. “Moldova has always stated that it supports the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Azerbaijan.”

Leuca said Moldova, Azerbaijan and other countries always support one another within international organizations on settlement of all conflicts.

There are formats involved in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict’s settlement and they are trying to solve this issue within international law and find the most acceptable solution to all the conflicts, added the ambassador.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.