The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Portugal supports Azerbaijan’s territorial integrity, sovereignty

Portugal supports Azerbaijan’s territorial integrity, sovereignty



Portugal supports the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Azerbaijan, Paula Leal da Silva, Portuguese ambassador to Azerbaijan, said in an interview with Azernews.

The challenging geopolitical situation in the South Caucasus region is resulting from the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, she added.

“We sustain the mediation efforts carried out by the Minsk Group of the OSCE and their co-chairs in finding a path for peace,” the ambassador said. “My country sincerely hopes that future negotiations will proceed towards a comprehensive, peaceful and lasting settlement of the conflict.”

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.