The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Hajiyev: Armenian occupation of Azerbaijani lands - main reason of ceasefire violations

Hajiyev: Armenian occupation of Azerbaijani lands - main reason of ceasefire violations



The OSCE MG co-chairs should urge continuation of substantive talks to change the status quo of the Nagorno-Karabakh’s occupation, which is unacceptable and unsustainable, Hikmat Hajiyev, spokesman of Azerbaijan’s Foreign Ministry, tweeted May 20.

Hajiyev was commenting on a statement released May 20 by Richard Hoagland, the US co-chair of the OSCE MG, regarding the recent incidents on the contact line between the Armenian and the Azerbaijani troops.

“Childish happiness of the Armenian side vis-a-vis the standard statement of the OSCE MG co-chairs is incomprehensible,” Hajiyev tweeted. “Everybody knows well that Azerbaijan will never ever tolerate occupation of its territories. Ceasefire is not a solution [to the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict] and never can be. For lasting peace, the armed forces of Armenia must withdraw from the seized lands of Azerbaijan.”

Hajiyev went on to add that the illegal presence of the armed forces of Armenia in the seized lands of Azerbaijan is the main reason of ceasefire violations and tension.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.