The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Azerbaijani armed forces kill 5 Armenian soldiers: Defense Ministry

Azerbaijani armed forces kill 5 Armenian soldiers: Defense Ministry



Five soldiers of the Armenian armed forces were eliminated on the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, Azerbaijan’s Defense Ministry said June 17.

Armenia previously stated that three of its soldiers were killed on the contact line.

Today, Azerbaijan’s Defense Ministry has said two more Armenian soldiers died of serious injuries.

Moreover, a number of seriously wounded Armenian soldiers were taken to one of the local hospitals.

“The Armenian side, being afraid of a fair discontent of the public, is concealing its losses,” according to the Defense Ministry message.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.