The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

"Turning a blind eye to occupation of other states’ lands poses threat to peace, security"



Turning a blind eye to the occupation of the lands of other states poses a threat to peace and security all over the world, said speaker of Azerbaijan’s Parliament Ogtay Asadov as he addressed the 137th Inter-Parliamentary Union Assembly in St. Petersburg.

“Unfortunately, Armenia has ignored the decisions and resolutions of authoritative international organizations over the past 25 years and continues to grossly violate international law. This is strange that there is no mechanism forcing the aggressor to comply with the decisions of international organizations. And this leads to the double standard approach towards the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict,” he noted.

Ogtay Asadov pointed out Armenia’s policy of ethnic cleansing and genocide against the Azerbaijani people, saying one million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced persons as a result of Armenia’s aggressive policy.

“The international community must take resolute measures and all the conflicts, including the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict must be settled on the basis of generally recognized principles and norms of international law, particularly the territorial integrity of states,” said the speaker.

Ogtay Asadov also hailed Azerbaijan’s model of tolerance and multiculturalism. He highlighted large-scale international events that Azerbaijan has hosted.

The event then featured a discussion of a number of organizational issues. Chairperson of the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation Valentina Matviyenko was elected as a new chair of the Inter-Parliamentary Union, while Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Vanuatu were elected as new members of the Union increasing the number of parliaments joining the Alliance to 176.