The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Poland reaffirms its full commitment to solving Nagorno-Karabakh protracted conflict

Poland reaffirms its full commitment to solving Nagorno-Karabakh protracted conflict



Poland reaffirms its full commitment to solving conflicts in the OSCE area, inclduing the Nagorno-Karabakh protracted conflict, Poland's Undersecretary of State for Security, Consular Affairs and Eastern Policy Bartosz Cichocki said during the 24th OSCE Ministerial Council meeting in Vienna Dec. 7.

"We believe that the OSCE should play a more significant role in conflict resolution. Our principal need is a full compliance with the unconditional implementation of the existing commitments in all three dimensions, including confidence building and security building measures and arms control agreements," he said.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.