The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Russian, Italian FMs to mull Karabakh conflict

Russian, Italian FMs to mull Karabakh conflict



Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov and his Italian counterpart Angelino Alfano will discuss assistance to settlement of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict on Jan. 31, TASS news agency reported citing the Russian Foreign Ministry.

The discussions will be held within Alfano’s visit to Moscow. At the forthcoming talks, the parties will also discuss this year’s plan for cooperation within the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), chaired by Italy.

Lavrov and Alfano will also consider the possibility of boosting the OSCE activity in the fight against terrorism, drug trafficking and cyberthreats, protection of traditional values and the rights of national minorities, and counteracting Christianophobia and Islamophobia.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.