The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Intensive talks to continue after presidential elections in Azerbaijan, Armenia – MFA

Intensive talks to continue after presidential elections in Azerbaijan, Armenia – MFA


An agreement was reached to continue intensive negotiations on the basis of existing ideas and proposals after the presidential elections in Armenia and Azerbaijan, Hikmat Hajiyev, spokesman for Azerbaijan’s Foreign Ministry, told APA on Wednesday.  

“The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group were received by President Ilham Aliyev as part of their trip to Azerbaijan. A detailed discussion was held with the co-chairs on the settlement of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict based on the views expressed during the Krakow meeting,” Hajiyev said.

As a country that has suffered from occupation and aggression, Azerbaijan supports the efforts to resolve the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict by means of substantial and logical negotiations in a timely manner, stressed the spokesman.

“As repeatedly stated by the OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs at the level of heads of state, the status quo that is based on occupation is unacceptable. The status quo must be changed. To this end, a complete and unconditional withdrawal must be ensured of Armenian armed forces from Azerbaijan’s occupied territories in accordance with UN Security Council Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884,” Hajiyev added.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.