The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Montenegro supports peaceful resolution of Karabakh conflict

Montenegro supports peaceful resolution of Karabakh conflict



Montenegro, as a NATO member and future member of the European Union, supports peaceful resolution of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, Montenegrin Foreign Minister Srdjan Darmanovic said in an interview with Trend.

The minister noted that Montenegro, through cooperation with partners, will continue to contribute to global security and stability.

"Also, Montenegro will continue to advocate constructive high-level dialogue through the activities of Minsk Group and respect for the UN resolutions and principles of territorial integrity and sovereignty of the Republic of Azerbaijan," Darmanovic told Trend.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.