The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Armenia’s non-constructive position impedes Karabakh conflict’s settlement - PM

Armenia’s non-constructive position impedes Karabakh conflict’s settlement - PM



Non-constructive position of Armenia’s criminal leadership, which relies on its patrons, is the main impediment for the settlement of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, Azerbaijan’s Prime Minister Artur Rasizade said during the presentation of the government’s report in the Parliament.

“I must say with deep regret that no serious progress was achieved in the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict,” he noted.

He added that Armenia is trying to protract the settlement of the problem in every possible way.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.