The Occupation in Figures
Nagorno-Karabakh: 1988-1992, territory 4400 km2; Shusha: may 08, 1992, territory 289 km2; Lachin: may 18, 1992, territory 1840 km2; Kalbajar: april 2, 1993, territory 3054 km2; Aghdam: july 23, 1993, territory 1150 km2; Fizuli: august 23, 1993, territory 1390 km2; Jabrayil: august 23, 1993, territory 1050 km2; Gubadli: august 31, 1993, territory 802 km2; Zangilan: october 29, 1993, territory 707 km2.

Lavrov: Russia to help in Karabakh conflict settlement

Lavrov: Russia to help in Karabakh conflict settlement



Russia will assist the sides of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict in its settlement, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov said June 7 at a joint press conference with Armenian Foreign Minister Zohrab Mnatsakanyan in Moscow.

“Russia, both in the context of our bilateral relations with Yerevan and Baku, and as a co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group, together with the US and French counterparts, will continue to assist the parties in finding mutually acceptable solutions,” Lavrov said.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.